top of page

​​​First Row: Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Frederica Chase Dodd 

Second Row: Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, 
Edith Motte Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza P. Shippen

Third Row: Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, 
Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson

In sweet rhythm, God's rays of grace and divine order appointed 22 young women who had vision and passion for sisterhood, scholarship and service.  From their unity and common bond the beloved sorority Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was born - - an organization that is rich in tradition and embodies a legacy of courage, faith, devotion, and sacrifice for civic engagement and public service.

Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

bottom of page